Friday, February 10

Registration will be open from 2:30-5:00PM in Room 120.

Opening Remarks
3:10PM, Room 127

Hon. Guido Calabresi, U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit; Sterling Professor Emeritus of Law & Professorial Lecturer in Law, Yale Law School


Panel 1: Justice Thomas and the Administrative State
3:45-5:00PM, Room 127




  • Hon. Charles J. Cooper, Partner, Cooper & Kirk PLLC
  • Prof. Philip Hamburger, Maurice and Hilda Friedman
    Professor of Law, Columbia Law School
  • Mr. Elbert Lin, Solicitor General, State of West Virginia 
  • Prof. Neomi Rao, Associate Professor of Law & Director of the Center for the Study of the Administrative State, Scalia Law School
  • Moderated by Hon. Janice Rogers Brown, U.S. Court of Appeals, D.C. Circuit

Community Reception
5:00-6:00PM, Ruttenberg Dining Hall

Reception open to ticketed symposium attendees, as well as members of the Yale Law School community. 

Saturday, February 11

Registration will be open from 9:00AM-2:00PM in Room 120.

  • Mr. William S. Consovoy, Partner, Consovoy McCarthy Park PLLC
  • Prof. Nicole Stelle Garnett, John P. Murphy Foundation Professor of Law, Notre Dame Law School
  • C. Kevin Marshall, Partner, Jones Day
  • Moderated by Hon. David R. Stras, Minnesota Supreme Court

Panel 2: Justice Thomas, Liberty, and Equality
9:30-10:45AM, Room 127


  • Prof. Gregory E. Maggs, Professor of Law & Co-director, National Security and U.S. Foreign Relations Law Program, George Washington University Law School
  • Mr. Patrick F. Philbin, Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
  • Prof. Saikrishna Prakash, James Monroe Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law
  • Moderated by Hon. Allison H. Eid, Colorado Supreme Court

Panel 3: Justice Thomas and Executive Power
11:00AM-12:15PM, Room 127




Prof. Akhil Reed Amar, Sterling Professor of Law, Yale Law School

Please note that if you would like to attend the Saturday lunch event, you must register for the Symposium.

Lunch and Reflections on
Justice Thomas and Criminal Procedure

12:30-2:00PM, Ruttenberg
Dining Hall


  • Prof. Marah Stith McLeod, Associate Professor, Notre Dame Law School
  • Mr. Adam Mortara, Partner, Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP; Lecturer, University of Chicago Law School
  • Hon. William H. Pryor, Jr., U.S. Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit
  • Prof. Kate Stith, Lafayette S. Foster Professor of Law, Yale Law School
  • Moderated by Hon. Amul R. Thapar, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Kentucky

Panel 4: Justice Thomas and Criminal Justice
2:15-3:30PM, Room 127




Introduction by Prof. Steven G. Calabresi, Clayton J. and Henry R. Barber Professor of Law, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
Prof. Lillian R. BeVier, David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Virginia School of Law

Closing Remarks
3:45PM, Law School Auditorium